Music and Birthday Cake

November 5, 2013 § 3 Comments

Paris and extended weekends are not the best mix for an unemployed person who can not afford to travel. With most of my friends travelling or visiting their families I didn’t have a lot of things to do. I decided to stay inside my cosy blanket and stay warm. But Paris never lets you do that!

While reading online about Paris I found an interesting acoustic music festival happening on Saturday and Sunday evenings. Without wasting a minute I messaged a friend who agreed to go with me. This festival called Melodica was born in Australia in 2007 with the idea to promote and foster a community of local musicians. Since then it has been to various cities worldwide like Melbourne, Hamburg, Reykjavík, Berlin, New York and more.

This year they came for the first time to Paris and I was there. The venue was La Bellevilloise, a hundred and thirty-six year old factory turned into a café and concert place in 2005. Located in the twentieth district, it’s a big hall with a decor fit for concerts, tables and chairs spread in front of the stage and different dining areas.

La Bellevilloise

La Bellevilloise, 19-21 rue Boyer

The musicians who played were amazing; I heard a lot of interesting songs with equally interesting stories behind them.

Owls of the Swamp

Owls of the Swamp

My favourite song of the evening was While the World Burns by Svavar Knutur.

It was a friend’s birthday on Sunday and there was a surprise planned for the evening. Among my friends I am lucky to have an amateur chef who makes delicious French desserts and keeps treating his friends with sumptuous meals from time to time. This friend made not one but two cakes called Baba au Rhum and this time I took a photo before attacking the cake.

Baba au Rhum

Baba au Rhum

No my friend is not 16, the local supermarket did not have the number two as candle. But 16 in hexadecimal is equal to 22. Of course it was an engineer’s birthday and he could do a little maths before blowing off the candles and savouring his cake.

Since my employment search began I have gone through a life I never could have imagined. But these things are happening to make me strong and teach me important valuable lessons. I can’t stay content with Paris for long without working for what I have worked very hard as a student. Each night I sleep thinking that tomorrow will be a better day, that day hasn’t come yet but I hope it does soon.

“Only in the darkness can you see the stars.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Music and Birthday Cake

  • Fiona says:

    Ma chouchou Polip,

    I loved the song!!!! 😀
    And the cakes! haha

    I understand for what you’re passing through, and you know my situation…it’s kind of the oposite, but I’m also suffering…
    The thing is, you have the amazing opportunity of being in the city more than half of the world wants to be, and you’ve got the chance of doing whatever you want, that you’ll always remember.

    In ten years, you’re going to remember all the good music, cakes, wines, nights, friends and “sorties” from the city of lights, I’m sure the years of work and study won’t provide such happiness and culture.

    Alors, keep enjoying, I’m sure sth will show up soon, even if it’s not what you’re expecting. Life has amazing things for us, I do hope! 🙂

    Deus, j’ai presque écrit un post aussi 😛

    Love you! ❤

Leave a Comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Music and Birthday Cake at Pages on Life in Paris.

meta

